Legislative Assembly

The Legislative Assembly is entrusted with legislative powers including; the passing of laws, ordinances, statues, regulations and codes, and the supervision of the activities of the Executive power.

The First Nations in Saskatchewan who are signatories to the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Convention each have one vote in the Assembly. The only exception is for the purposes of the Executive elections whereby a voting formula is implemented as set out in the FSIN Election Act. The Convention Act specifies that three sessions of the Legislative Assembly are held annually: fall, winter, and spring. Special sessions are held as required.

The Assembly deals with a variety of issues of mutual concern to the member First Nations. The Legislative Assembly objectives include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Promote the protection and implementation of Treaty Rights 
  • Consultation with member First Nations on issues of mutual concern
  • Determine action plans for resolution of issues
  • Develop and ratify policy documents
  • Develop and ratify First Nation legislation
  • Development and supervision of institutions to implement its power
  • Establishment of boards/commissions which have their powers and functions set out in legislation
  • Determine the number and powers of the Executive